how to get the voices from my keyboard onto magix music maker when the midi cable is connected

Zumbaproductions wrote on 3/16/2010, 3:26 PM

Help! i have a yamaha keyboard and i will record all of my midi files on music maker using the voices that are on my keyboard, and then export it and when i try listening to my exported file, there is no sound!!!
If anyone knows how i could get the voices from my keyboard onto magix music maker so that i can export my songs please.

Comments

bobbynuts wrote on 3/16/2010, 5:53 PM
I'm not an expert on what you are trying to do but would you not have to record the output of your Yamaha to an audio track ?

The manual says :- All MIDI objects which open external synthesizers via a MIDI interface will have to be converted into audio objects if you want them to be exported as well. They only contain control information for sound reproduction. For this to happen, the output of the MIDI synthesizer (e.g. the soundcard) must be connected to the input of the sound card. The MIDI data can then be played and recorded simultaneously via the record function. The result is an audio file that can be edited and exported together with the multimedia files. hope that helps
Procyon wrote on 3/17/2010, 3:01 PM
Recording "the voices from my keyboard" has nothing to do with MIDI.

You simply need to connect the audio output from the keyboard to the Line IN on your computer sound card or audio interface.  Make sure the Line IN is turned up and not muted in your computers operating system.

Then, record as a standard audio recording.
Zumbaproductions wrote on 3/17/2010, 3:07 PM
i don't have a sound card or anything like that on my computer, the midi cable has one end midi and one end USB. Any thing else i can do?
Procyon wrote on 3/17/2010, 3:36 PM