Korg Odyssey

Former user wrote on 3/5/2019, 7:40 AM

First of all, I'm new to all of this so please excuse any silly questions I may have. I want to buy a Korg Odyssey and record midi with music maker 2019 (control version).  I'm aware that the Korg Odyssey doesn't translate pitch bend and velocity control into midi but I'm assuming that there is a way around this? Maybe with the module version of the Odyssey? Could somebody please explain what I would need and how exactly to connect? Would music maker recognise the Odyssey and would it be selectable like the VST's? I'm currently using just a standard midi keyboard over USB midi into my computer and hence into Music Maker. I'm not a musician but interested in having a play around as a hobby.

Comments

emmrecs wrote on 3/5/2019, 9:15 AM

Hi, welcome to the Magix forums.

I did a quick Google search on this synthesizer and found this page of specifications. Most pertinent to you is that MIDI is configured to be input only, so you cannot use this keyboard to play/record anything into MM using any MIDI connection. However, it does have CV (Control Voltage) inputs and outputs so a CV to MIDI convertor should allow it to communicate with and record to MM.

I have no experience of using any CV technology so the linked page is simply what a quick search reveals.

One thing that did strike me is that most (all) of the units listed on that page are not bi-directional, i.e they can convert CV to MIDI data but not the reverse. So, to be able to use this keyboard for recording AND playback I think you would need to use the CV to MIDI convertor for input but a standard MIDI cable for output connection to your keyboard

Depending on your computer set-up you will almost certainly need an additional MIDI to USB convertor in order to connect to your computer, in the following set-up:
Recording: Keyboard>CV to MIDI convertor/interface>MIDI to USB convertor>Computer