Comments

rraud wrote on 11/15/2022, 5:42 PM

Hi @Dobalina,
"SOUND FORGE Audio Studio software maintains your undo history until you close the data window (or exit the application) so you can undo edit operations even if you've saved your file".

Sound Forge Pro is basically the same, but there is an additional undo/redo history list n the 'View' menu where the before/after states can be played back, in addition to the undo/redo events in the 'Edit' menu.

The only way to undo after saving and closing the file is to edit in the 'project' mode... Save as a 'Sound Forge AS project' file <.sfas> will create a project control file and a subsequent folder with new media files. Saving and reopening will be a little slower than the default 'destructive' editing.
FWIW, a <.sfas> SF Audio Studio project and a <.frg> SF Pro project are basically cross-capatible so a project could be created in AS and continued in SFP later on.

Dobalina wrote on 11/15/2022, 6:52 PM

Thanks for your reply @rraud Unfortunately I'm losing my undo history immediately after saving without closing anything. Here's a video to show you what I see. In this example
- I delete a portion of the clip and I'm able to undo it
- As soon as I save the file the undo history is gone
Unless I'm misunderstanding your reply, this doesn't seem to align. In this scenario shouldn't I be able to undo my clip deletion post save? or is this working as intended?

john_barr wrote on 11/15/2022, 7:28 PM

Hi, Dobalina. Sound Forge Pro I can undo even after saving.

Dobalina wrote on 11/15/2022, 7:38 PM

Hi, Dobalina. Sound Forge Pro I can undo even after saving.

Thanks for posting this. This is what I would expect and want, though for some reason I lose my undo history. (I'm using non-pro version)

 

john_barr wrote on 11/15/2022, 7:46 PM

Save a little more money and buy the Pro version. The Black Friday period is the best time to buy, big discount.

rraud wrote on 11/17/2022, 10:19 AM

for some reason I lose my undo history.

Confirm you have the "Allow undo past Save" check box selected in the "Options> Preferences> General" menu.

If you are working with lossy file types? (MP3 or AAC for instance), try enabling 'Always proxy compressed formats', which is also in the 'Options> Preferences> General" menu.. though I am not sure a proxy PCM file will make a difference in this regard .

As I previously stated, when you close the file's data window (or close the application), the undo data is cleared. Also the undo/redo is basally the same in AS and Pro... aside from the 'View>Undo/Redo History' in the Pro version.

I'm using non-pro version

To clarify, the "non-pro" version is 'Sound Forge Audio Studio', though I frequently use the abbreviation "AS".

Dobalina wrote on 11/17/2022, 11:56 AM

Confirm you have the "Allow undo past Save" check box selected in the "Options> Preferences> General" menu.

If you are working with lossy file types? (MP3 or AAC for instance), try enabling 'Always proxy compressed formats', which is also in the 'Options> Preferences> General" menu.. though I am not sure a proxy PCM file will make a difference in this regard .

Looking at my list of options, it appears both of those options you mentioned are not listed in my General settings. This is the full list of options I have. However I found if I click the "Default All" button my ability to undo after saving now works!

rraud wrote on 11/17/2022, 1:02 PM

@Dobalina, I just checked AS 15 and 16 and the 'Allow undo past save' menu item is indeed missing in the AS "Options> Preferences> General" menu (despite what the PDF and online help user menus state).

Thank-you very much for the solution update. This will save other users the aggravation you encountered.