What happened to the audio re-record option in VPX?

Kraznet wrote on 12/7/2018, 7:14 AM

What happened to the audio re-record option in VPX? In the previous versions of VPX if you were recording for example a voice-over and made a mistake you could hit stop and you had the option to keep the take, delete it or to re-record it (I can't remember the exact word which was used in the dialogue) . It seems that option to re-record it has disappeared from the dialogue altogether. This is a great shame because it was extremely handy and fast.

Also another problem I ran into is that if your recording from somewhere further down the timeline and you decide to delete the take you just recorded, the play cursor will go back to the beginning of the entire video and you have to reposition it. So that's two rather irritating changes I've noticed.

Regards, Kraznet
 

Last changed by Kraznet

Asus Maximus X Code, Intel i7 8770K, 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz, Samsung 850 Pro 512 SSD System Drive, 1 x Crucial 960gb SSD A/V Drive,1 x Crucial 960 1x 512 Samsung SSD Samples Drives, RME Raydat, RME Babyface Pro, Windows 10 x64, Philips 40" UHD Monitor (scaling 150%), 1x Gigabyte GTX 960 2gb, Windows 10 Home. Video Pro X latest version, Samplitude Pro X4, Sequoia 14 + beta versions.

Comments

browj2 wrote on 12/7/2018, 9:53 AM

Hi Martin,

See point 22 in this thread that is a sticky right now. I have also raised a ticket that included the entire list. I'll add in the part about the loss of re-recording. I used that a lot.

Today, this got worse. I opened my test project that had a bunch of recordings, recorded another, accepted and it disappeared. Did another, and it disappeared, that is, it didn't show up where the playback marker started. I found them at about 17 minutes, way beyond the 2 minutes of my timeline. I started a new project, added a couple of minutes of video clips and tried recording, and my recordings both went to about 17 minutes, one below the other. I restarted VPX and this problem disappeared. Strange.

I see now that the playback marker goes to the beginning when a take is not accepted (deleted). Strange, I couldn't even see that before. I couldn't see the playback marker at all; I must have missed seeing it at the beginning.

I suggest that you also raise a ticket to give more weight to this problem.

John CB

browj2 wrote on 12/7/2018, 10:24 AM

Oh no! It's doing it again. This time it put my recording about 5 hours from the beginning.

Kraznet wrote on 12/7/2018, 3:46 PM

Oh no! It's doing it again. This time it put my recording about 5 hours from the beginning.

Yes it's very annoying!!

Asus Maximus X Code, Intel i7 8770K, 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz, Samsung 850 Pro 512 SSD System Drive, 1 x Crucial 960gb SSD A/V Drive,1 x Crucial 960 1x 512 Samsung SSD Samples Drives, RME Raydat, RME Babyface Pro, Windows 10 x64, Philips 40" UHD Monitor (scaling 150%), 1x Gigabyte GTX 960 2gb, Windows 10 Home. Video Pro X latest version, Samplitude Pro X4, Sequoia 14 + beta versions.