Lots of issues with new Music Maker release (v29-64bit)

Comments

emmrecs wrote on 7/10/2020, 3:25 AM

@VINCENTOMONDI-OBUMBA

Yes, these problems are very frustrating and you are most certainly not the only user to experience them in the latest release of Music Maker (version 29).

Have you seen this pinned post which contains a list of all the bugs which users have found, have reported here (and others have verified) and which have been reported to Magix?

The only thing any of us can do at the moment is to "try and be patient" whilst Magix developers and staff attempt to rectify the problems.

Jeff
Forum Moderator

Win 10 Pro 64 bit, Intel i7 Quad Core 6700K @ 4GHz, 32 GB RAM, NVidia GTX 1660TI and Intel HD530 Graphics, MOTU 8-Pre f/w audio interface, VPX, MEP, Music Maker, PhotoStory Deluxe, Photo Manager Deluxe, Xara 3D Maker 7, Reaper, Adobe Audition 3, CS6 and CC, 2 x Canon HG10 cameras, 1 x Canon EOS 600D, Akaso EK7000 Pro Action Cam

Graham-Hawker wrote on 7/10/2020, 5:38 AM
Have you seen this pinned post which contains a list of all the bugs which users have found, have reported here (and others have verified) and which have been reported to Magix?

Jeff
Forum Moderator

That list doesn't have my VST bug as reported on the first page of this thread. I have installed twice on different laptops and the cycle of 32 bit only, a proper listing (with duplicates as mentioned in the list) and an empty list occurs on both. Should I report this separately?

browj2 wrote on 7/10/2020, 9:35 AM

The problem I'm having is with instruments, both Magix and VST. After I set the path the scan takes place. It picks up the 64bit versions. On reopening Magix only 32bit versions of all instruments are shown. I have to rescan to get the 64bit versions. I do have an old trial of Samplitude Music Studio and strangely I can load 32 bit versions of Magix Instruments. It seem to use the VST bridge from the trial. Generally a bit messy. If I save a track with a 64bit instrument when reopened at the start it will say the instrument can't be found.

Next time of opening no instruments were listed.

Next time of opening only 64 bit versions were listed. It's a bit like vst bingo.

And the circle completes. Next time only 32bit versions are listed.

Not all soundpools were listed for download and I had to manually ask it to add a couple from the store.


@Graham-Hawker

Hi Graham,

Above is the quote from your first post. Are you still having all of these problems or only some of them. Can you relist the ones giving you problems along with screen shots?

Just to check, do you have the Premium version of 2021 that includes the 32-bit VST bridge?

The duplication of instruments only happened to me in one iteration, then disappeared. Exactly when or why, I don't know.

For the problem of saving a track with a 64 bit instrument that can't be found upon reopening, which instrument? If it is Vita only, then that is on the bug list. There are two Vitas, one with the full list of instruments, the other with drums only. Upon reopening, MMM tries to find the instruments in the wrong Vita, or something.

Your last point, were the Soundpools not already installed and showing up under Loops? With a couple of exceptions, my Soundpools were all loaded once I rescanned the Soundpools folder. Almost all of the ones that showed up under Downloads were pending from the previous version (because I had switched from OGG to WAV). I have 1 persistent Soundpool showing up under Download, but, unlike the one Soundpool for John EB, it also shows up under Loops.

John CB

John C.B.

VideoPro X(16); Movie Studio 2024 Platinum; MM2024 with MM2023 Premium Edition; Samplitude Pro X8 Suite; see About me for more.

Desktop System - Windows 10 Pro 22H2; MB ROG STRIX B560-A Gaming WiFi; Graphics Card Zotac Gaming NVIDIA GeForce RTX-3060, PS; Power supply EVGA 750W; Intel Core i7-10700K @ 3.80GHz (UHD Graphics 630); RAM 32 GB; OS on Kingston SSD 1TB; secondary WD 2TB; others 1.5TB, 3TB, 500GB, 4TB, 5TB, 6TB, 8TB; three monitors - HP 25" main, LG 4K 27" second, HP 27" third; Casio WK-225 piano keyboard; M-Audio M-Track USB mixer.

Notebook - Microsoft Surface Pro 4, i5-6300U, 8 GB RAM, 256 SSD, W10 Pro 20H2.

YouTube Channel: @JCBrownVideos

Graham-Hawker wrote on 7/10/2020, 10:33 AM


@Graham-Hawker

Hi Graham,

Above is the quote from your first post. Are you still having all of these problems or only some of them. Can you relist the ones giving you problems along with screen shots?

I'm using the free version with VST bridge added and all my instruments and sounds and features from 2020 Premium version added.

Strangely I've just tried it again to get some screenshots and it's now working OK with the the list always containing all the 64 and 32bit instruments. I've opened and closed the program a few times and it's always OK (except the errors in the list evryone else is having). Very odd. I guess the program knew I had asked the question and decided it was time to behave.

Pernas wrote on 7/11/2020, 9:04 AM

Hi!

Just discovered the known issues list and the following two bugs are very annoying to say at least;

(From the list of Known bugs)

1. It is not possible to load AVI, WMV or MXV video files and Visuals due to a missing DLL file
This is beyond bad, where was QA????

6. Occasional program hangs/freezes when previewing Soundpool samples, once the program has done this the only fix is to use Task Manager to end the task.
Not again, since the last release was rather stable we're now back to this again...:(

So my next thing to ask (sorry if ranting) why wasn't these two things caught during QA????????

/Per

browj2 wrote on 7/11/2020, 9:13 AM

@Pernas

Hi,

My best guess is that marketing set a date for issue, but development wasn't ready. They issued anyways. Seems to be a problem with most software where marketing publishes an issue date in advance, and then has problems trying to keep to it. You can expect a least 1 patch in the next week (I hope) with more to follow.

John CB

John C.B.

VideoPro X(16); Movie Studio 2024 Platinum; MM2024 with MM2023 Premium Edition; Samplitude Pro X8 Suite; see About me for more.

Desktop System - Windows 10 Pro 22H2; MB ROG STRIX B560-A Gaming WiFi; Graphics Card Zotac Gaming NVIDIA GeForce RTX-3060, PS; Power supply EVGA 750W; Intel Core i7-10700K @ 3.80GHz (UHD Graphics 630); RAM 32 GB; OS on Kingston SSD 1TB; secondary WD 2TB; others 1.5TB, 3TB, 500GB, 4TB, 5TB, 6TB, 8TB; three monitors - HP 25" main, LG 4K 27" second, HP 27" third; Casio WK-225 piano keyboard; M-Audio M-Track USB mixer.

Notebook - Microsoft Surface Pro 4, i5-6300U, 8 GB RAM, 256 SSD, W10 Pro 20H2.

YouTube Channel: @JCBrownVideos

johnebaker wrote on 7/11/2020, 2:25 PM

@Graham-Hawker

Hi

. . . . That list doesn't have my VST bug as reported on the first page of this thread. . . . .

Is not your bug item 3 on the list - if not please give more information and screens shots and I will add to the list.

John EB
Forum Moderator

VPX 15, Movie Studio 2024, 2023, and earlier versions 2015 and 2016, Music Maker Premium 2024.

PC - running Windows 11 23H2 Professional 64bit on Intel i7-8700K 3.2 GHz, 16GB RAM, RTX 2060 6GB 192-bit GDDR6, 1 x 1Tb Sabrent NVME SSD (OS and programs), 2 x 4TB HDD (Data) internal HDD + 1TB internal SSD (Work disc), + 6 ext backup HDDs.

Laptop - Lenovo Legion 5i Phantom - running Windows 11 23H2 on Intel Core i7-10750H, 16GB DDR4-SDRAM, 512GB SSD, 43.9 cm screen Full HD 1920 x 1080, Intel UHD 630 iGPU and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB GDDR6)

Sony FDR-AX53e Video camera, DJI Osmo Action 3 and Sony HDR-AS30V Sports cams.

Graham-Hawker wrote on 7/11/2020, 2:47 PM

@Graham-Hawker

Hi

. . . . That list doesn't have my VST bug as reported on the first page of this thread. . . . .

Is not your bug item 3 on the list - if not please give more information and screens shots and I will add to the list.

John EB
Forum Moderator


Hi John.

See my other post on this page (7/10/2020, 4:33 PM). My bug has mysteriously gone away.

johnebaker wrote on 7/11/2020, 3:59 PM

@Graham-Hawker

Hi

Apologies - I missed that post, thanks for the heads up.

John EB
 

 

VPX 15, Movie Studio 2024, 2023, and earlier versions 2015 and 2016, Music Maker Premium 2024.

PC - running Windows 11 23H2 Professional 64bit on Intel i7-8700K 3.2 GHz, 16GB RAM, RTX 2060 6GB 192-bit GDDR6, 1 x 1Tb Sabrent NVME SSD (OS and programs), 2 x 4TB HDD (Data) internal HDD + 1TB internal SSD (Work disc), + 6 ext backup HDDs.

Laptop - Lenovo Legion 5i Phantom - running Windows 11 23H2 on Intel Core i7-10750H, 16GB DDR4-SDRAM, 512GB SSD, 43.9 cm screen Full HD 1920 x 1080, Intel UHD 630 iGPU and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB GDDR6)

Sony FDR-AX53e Video camera, DJI Osmo Action 3 and Sony HDR-AS30V Sports cams.

Pernas wrote on 7/13/2020, 4:08 AM

Yes I guess its the way software is released nowadays - always rushed out before ready.

Anyway, it's a good thing that the old 2020 can co-exist meanwhile waiting for an update.

Just noticed a 29.0.1.16 update! Just tried it and not sure it can read video files from the file manager yet...

emmrecs wrote on 7/13/2020, 5:47 AM

@jan99 @johnebaker @browj2 @Graham-Hawker

As @Pernas reported in the post directly above this, an update patch has been released this morning. The details of what has been changed were listed on the notification screen in the app as below:

I haven't had opportunity to check all of these but I can confirm the "Download error" message has now disappeared.

Jeff

Win 10 Pro 64 bit, Intel i7 Quad Core 6700K @ 4GHz, 32 GB RAM, NVidia GTX 1660TI and Intel HD530 Graphics, MOTU 8-Pre f/w audio interface, VPX, MEP, Music Maker, PhotoStory Deluxe, Photo Manager Deluxe, Xara 3D Maker 7, Reaper, Adobe Audition 3, CS6 and CC, 2 x Canon HG10 cameras, 1 x Canon EOS 600D, Akaso EK7000 Pro Action Cam

browj2 wrote on 7/13/2020, 8:32 AM

@emmrecs @johnebaker @Graham-Hawker

Well, that is a significant improvement and welcome relief!

"Download error" messages gone.

Downloads - perennial Revolta - Plus Presets - downloaded, installed, did not come back on the Download list.

However, the Soundpool WinterChill - downloaded, installed - kept coming back, even after Cleaning Up Soundpools.

Video objects still cannot be loaded.

Splitting a MIDI object still causes it to disappear after reloading.

Song Maker works much better. I still had one or two overlaps but this was minor. However, finishing songs is a problem. The ones that I tried get cut off, or rather, the loop doesn't end properly. This is also a problem with Soundpool loops in general - Magix needs to add endings or an ending note to many of the instruments, especially synths and FX. One can do this manually, but you have to know which synth and preset was used; same with other instruments.

After Cleaning Up Store and restarting and logging in, the Instruments list is now sorted in reverse order for the most part, with third party instruments unsorted it would seem, and everything is still in one long list at the right.

No crashes (yet)!

New problems:

  • File Manager does not sort folders. None of the header buttons cause a sort.
  • File Manager under My Computer, C drive, all I can get is Program Data and Users. Under Users, I get Admin (the only user) and under Admin, I get on Music and its subfolders. Cannot access Documents. Under My Music, I can get the rest, but not under My Computer.

I will test out on my desktop a bit later.

John CB

John C.B.

VideoPro X(16); Movie Studio 2024 Platinum; MM2024 with MM2023 Premium Edition; Samplitude Pro X8 Suite; see About me for more.

Desktop System - Windows 10 Pro 22H2; MB ROG STRIX B560-A Gaming WiFi; Graphics Card Zotac Gaming NVIDIA GeForce RTX-3060, PS; Power supply EVGA 750W; Intel Core i7-10700K @ 3.80GHz (UHD Graphics 630); RAM 32 GB; OS on Kingston SSD 1TB; secondary WD 2TB; others 1.5TB, 3TB, 500GB, 4TB, 5TB, 6TB, 8TB; three monitors - HP 25" main, LG 4K 27" second, HP 27" third; Casio WK-225 piano keyboard; M-Audio M-Track USB mixer.

Notebook - Microsoft Surface Pro 4, i5-6300U, 8 GB RAM, 256 SSD, W10 Pro 20H2.

YouTube Channel: @JCBrownVideos

johnebaker wrote on 7/13/2020, 2:20 PM

@browj2

Hi John

Patch 29.0.0.16:-

Download error fixed - confirmed.

Revolta Presets fixed - confirmed

Perennial Instruments and West Coast Hustle download not fixed - however three of the 6 Instruments are different.

Video objects fix was not in the list of fixes.

Splitting a MIDI object still causes it to disappear - confirmed

Song Maker working OK - no overlapping so far and ends not cutting off - some endings though do seem abrupt - will check with 2020 to see if same.

I do not think these are new, the File Manager issues also exist in MMM 2020.

My Computer - C: drive, I only get Program files, Magix, Music Maker2021 - it is similar in 2020 C:\Program Files (x86)\MAGIX\Music Maker2020\ and their subfolders/files - Both are installed alongside each other in custom folders.

I will update the list for the confirmed items.

John EB

VPX 15, Movie Studio 2024, 2023, and earlier versions 2015 and 2016, Music Maker Premium 2024.

PC - running Windows 11 23H2 Professional 64bit on Intel i7-8700K 3.2 GHz, 16GB RAM, RTX 2060 6GB 192-bit GDDR6, 1 x 1Tb Sabrent NVME SSD (OS and programs), 2 x 4TB HDD (Data) internal HDD + 1TB internal SSD (Work disc), + 6 ext backup HDDs.

Laptop - Lenovo Legion 5i Phantom - running Windows 11 23H2 on Intel Core i7-10750H, 16GB DDR4-SDRAM, 512GB SSD, 43.9 cm screen Full HD 1920 x 1080, Intel UHD 630 iGPU and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB GDDR6)

Sony FDR-AX53e Video camera, DJI Osmo Action 3 and Sony HDR-AS30V Sports cams.

browj2 wrote on 7/14/2020, 9:49 AM

@johnebaker

I am still running into the freezing problem whilst previewing loops, on both computers. After previewing several or many, a loop will start playing and keep playing with no way out except through the task manager.

John CB

John C.B.

VideoPro X(16); Movie Studio 2024 Platinum; MM2024 with MM2023 Premium Edition; Samplitude Pro X8 Suite; see About me for more.

Desktop System - Windows 10 Pro 22H2; MB ROG STRIX B560-A Gaming WiFi; Graphics Card Zotac Gaming NVIDIA GeForce RTX-3060, PS; Power supply EVGA 750W; Intel Core i7-10700K @ 3.80GHz (UHD Graphics 630); RAM 32 GB; OS on Kingston SSD 1TB; secondary WD 2TB; others 1.5TB, 3TB, 500GB, 4TB, 5TB, 6TB, 8TB; three monitors - HP 25" main, LG 4K 27" second, HP 27" third; Casio WK-225 piano keyboard; M-Audio M-Track USB mixer.

Notebook - Microsoft Surface Pro 4, i5-6300U, 8 GB RAM, 256 SSD, W10 Pro 20H2.

YouTube Channel: @JCBrownVideos

Graham-Hawker wrote on 7/14/2020, 11:16 AM

@johnebaker

I am still running into the freezing problem whilst previewing loops, on both computers. After previewing several or many, a loop will start playing and keep playing with no way out except through the task manager.

John CB

I get this if I preview old loops. I don't really use loops but I did add some from a very old version. Modern loops seem fine. For Modern that means download in last couple of years.

hdogan wrote on 7/16/2020, 1:33 PM

I've updated 29.0.1.16 and previewing soundpool loops still crashes (i'm aware it's in known issues/bugs list). Sadly just subscribed to unlimited loops plan, and I've started to thing it should be a mistake to pay unstable software... So sad.

Berttone-Fernandes wrote on 7/17/2020, 6:24 AM

where can i donwload it? mine is crashing

Ginny wrote on 7/17/2020, 7:46 AM

OMG, I am so glad I am not the only one. I have to download and reinstall ALL of my soundpools, some are missing...in fact, lots are missing, and this new program has been freezing a lot. Is it possible for me to download the 2020 version on a separate HD and use that one until some of these issues are fixed? At least I would still be able to understand the program (new since May) while I wait fo the new one to become stable if it ever does.

browj2 wrote on 7/17/2020, 9:23 AM

@Ginny

No, you do not have to download and reinstall your Soundpools unless you went and deleted them all.

You have jumped into the end of a long thread. Did you not read it through? Like the first page?

Rescan the Soundpools, that is all. Some may still show up under the Download tab; if so, just download and install everything. It works by itself.

When you installed 2021, you were asked if you wanted to remove the previous version. I and others have said more than once on this forum to keep the previous version until you are sure that your existing projects work with the new version.

@Berttone-Fernandes

When you open Music Maker 2021, it will tell you if there is a patch.

John CB

John C.B.

VideoPro X(16); Movie Studio 2024 Platinum; MM2024 with MM2023 Premium Edition; Samplitude Pro X8 Suite; see About me for more.

Desktop System - Windows 10 Pro 22H2; MB ROG STRIX B560-A Gaming WiFi; Graphics Card Zotac Gaming NVIDIA GeForce RTX-3060, PS; Power supply EVGA 750W; Intel Core i7-10700K @ 3.80GHz (UHD Graphics 630); RAM 32 GB; OS on Kingston SSD 1TB; secondary WD 2TB; others 1.5TB, 3TB, 500GB, 4TB, 5TB, 6TB, 8TB; three monitors - HP 25" main, LG 4K 27" second, HP 27" third; Casio WK-225 piano keyboard; M-Audio M-Track USB mixer.

Notebook - Microsoft Surface Pro 4, i5-6300U, 8 GB RAM, 256 SSD, W10 Pro 20H2.

YouTube Channel: @JCBrownVideos

johnebaker wrote on 7/17/2020, 11:16 AM

@Ginny

Hi

. . . . Is it possible for me to download the 2020 version . . . .

Yes - go to My Service Center and select My Products, there you will find your registered products - MMM 2020 should be listed as Music Maker 28 there will be a download link and serial number.

You can install alongside MMM 2021 by specifying a different folder path eg Music Maker 2020.

HTH

John EB
Forum Moderator

VPX 15, Movie Studio 2024, 2023, and earlier versions 2015 and 2016, Music Maker Premium 2024.

PC - running Windows 11 23H2 Professional 64bit on Intel i7-8700K 3.2 GHz, 16GB RAM, RTX 2060 6GB 192-bit GDDR6, 1 x 1Tb Sabrent NVME SSD (OS and programs), 2 x 4TB HDD (Data) internal HDD + 1TB internal SSD (Work disc), + 6 ext backup HDDs.

Laptop - Lenovo Legion 5i Phantom - running Windows 11 23H2 on Intel Core i7-10750H, 16GB DDR4-SDRAM, 512GB SSD, 43.9 cm screen Full HD 1920 x 1080, Intel UHD 630 iGPU and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 (6GB GDDR6)

Sony FDR-AX53e Video camera, DJI Osmo Action 3 and Sony HDR-AS30V Sports cams.

Ginny wrote on 7/17/2020, 2:50 PM

@VINCENTOMONDI-OBUMBA

Boy oh boy, I certainly can relate to what you thought (new will be better), and many of the same problems everyone else seems to be experiencing. I wish I had the answer, but I don't. Fortunately, I installed 2020 on another computer, so I will switch to that one until such time the developers get the problems taken care of so that the program becomes usable again. I am so new at this, and yes, I have read the manual, as someone pointed out to me. The manual isn't the solution. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Ginny wrote on 7/17/2020, 3:02 PM

@Ginny

No, you do not have to download and reinstall your Soundpools unless you went and deleted them all.

You have jumped into the end of a long thread. Did you not read it through? Like the first page?

Rescan the Soundpools, that is all. Some may still show up under the Download tab; if so, just download and install everything. It works by itself.

When you installed 2021, you were asked if you wanted to remove the previous version. I and others have said more than once on this forum to keep the previous version until you are sure that your existing projects work with the new version.

@Berttone-Fernandes

When you open Music Maker 2021, it will tell you if there is a patch.

John CB


@browj2

#1, I did read this thread from the first page, so that was not a problem

#2. I tried rescanning as you suggested and that didn't help at all, I still have to redownload all soundpools when I restart the program.

#3. I should have read every single post with due diligence before I decided to upgrade which would tell me that even experts such as yourself had major problems with 2021. I wouldn't have done it, but can't change that now, can I. I was so excited about MMM that I wanted more, which is why I jumped the gun.

So, in conclusion, I thank you for your response, but it sure didn't do anything for me or my program. Ginny

browj2 wrote on 7/17/2020, 3:08 PM

@Ginny

Did you look at the folder for the Shop:

C:\Users\Public\Documents\MAGIX\Common\Soundpools\Shop

Any Soundpools purchased from within MusicMaker should show up here. None should have disappeared unless you deleted them yourself.

Any Soundpools not purchase from within MM, like those purchased before the Store was started, will be in folders above Shop. These should all be backed up.

How did you rescan for Soundpools?

Perhaps I should have been more clear. On the Loops tab, click on the gear at the upper right and select "Add new Soundpools." Navigate to the Shop folder indicated above or one level higher (Soundpools), OK. This will scan the folders for Soundpools and they will show up under Loops.

Note that many of the problems encountered have been sorted out with the patch. However, there are still some to go, in particular, frequent crashing and missing dll for importing videos.

John CB

Last changed by browj2 on 7/17/2020, 3:48 PM, changed a total of 1 times.

John C.B.

VideoPro X(16); Movie Studio 2024 Platinum; MM2024 with MM2023 Premium Edition; Samplitude Pro X8 Suite; see About me for more.

Desktop System - Windows 10 Pro 22H2; MB ROG STRIX B560-A Gaming WiFi; Graphics Card Zotac Gaming NVIDIA GeForce RTX-3060, PS; Power supply EVGA 750W; Intel Core i7-10700K @ 3.80GHz (UHD Graphics 630); RAM 32 GB; OS on Kingston SSD 1TB; secondary WD 2TB; others 1.5TB, 3TB, 500GB, 4TB, 5TB, 6TB, 8TB; three monitors - HP 25" main, LG 4K 27" second, HP 27" third; Casio WK-225 piano keyboard; M-Audio M-Track USB mixer.

Notebook - Microsoft Surface Pro 4, i5-6300U, 8 GB RAM, 256 SSD, W10 Pro 20H2.

YouTube Channel: @JCBrownVideos

browj2 wrote on 7/18/2020, 7:27 AM

@johnebaker

Hi John,

I thought that the Vita problem had been solved for Soundpools that use the main Vita instrument, but it has not. On both computers, I get the "Magix Vita - File not found" error with "YT-MAGIX Acoustic Pianos" in the box.

John CB

John C.B.

VideoPro X(16); Movie Studio 2024 Platinum; MM2024 with MM2023 Premium Edition; Samplitude Pro X8 Suite; see About me for more.

Desktop System - Windows 10 Pro 22H2; MB ROG STRIX B560-A Gaming WiFi; Graphics Card Zotac Gaming NVIDIA GeForce RTX-3060, PS; Power supply EVGA 750W; Intel Core i7-10700K @ 3.80GHz (UHD Graphics 630); RAM 32 GB; OS on Kingston SSD 1TB; secondary WD 2TB; others 1.5TB, 3TB, 500GB, 4TB, 5TB, 6TB, 8TB; three monitors - HP 25" main, LG 4K 27" second, HP 27" third; Casio WK-225 piano keyboard; M-Audio M-Track USB mixer.

Notebook - Microsoft Surface Pro 4, i5-6300U, 8 GB RAM, 256 SSD, W10 Pro 20H2.

YouTube Channel: @JCBrownVideos